Uncategorized

Blizzard Of 2013

English: snowman
English: snowman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

English: A snowball fight at the Dupont Circle...
English: A snowball fight at the Dupont Circle fountain, located at the center of Dupont Circle in Washington, D.C., following the First North American blizzard of 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 


Looking in the distance

 

there’s a storm rolling in

 

a broken horizon

 

the clouds toss and turn

 

no shadows on the ground

 

the sun has hid its face

 

the snow falls without a sound

 

a quiet time to slip away

 

In my mind there’s an echo

 

a small child sliding down a hill

 

a snowman whose head stands in the winter’s glow

 

birds eating on the windowsill

 

there’s a time that stands through time

 

when life would become simple

 

as the hills we climbed

 

in weather that could freeze a dimple

 

Sometimes looking back

 

brings me to today

 

how does our thinking get so far off the track

 

I wonder when all the innocence went away

 

looking for school to close

 

so we could have a snowball fight

 

making a track with our sleds with frozen toes

 

gloves soaked to the skin, what a sight!

 

Hair frozen in place by the wind

 

bundled up in our one piece suits

 

walking around catching flakes our tongue

 

or stuck to a railing as our family has laughing fits

 

Watching the blizzard rolling in from the coast

 

the sky grayed and the wind

 

I think back to the times I miss the most

 

when I didn’t dread it and wanted it to rescind

 

Maybe looking back will pull out all the charm

 

as I wrap this blanket up around me

 

praying none will come to harm

 

that the day will be one to take in this beauty

 

Those sweet days of yesteryear

 

awaken in my tired soul

 

making me watch the pictures there

 

making me want to enjoy the day

 

that will be my goal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

